Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2022, 02:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Seattle
Posts: 22
Hole in my toadstool?

I am not sure what is going on. My toadstool has been spending more time flopped over lately and I noticed this morning that there is a hole in the flesh. Iíve had it for about 9 months and never had any problem like this.

Parameters:
Phosphate: 0.09 (working on lowering this)
Alkalinity: 8.5 dkh
Salinity: 1.026
Calcium: 400 ppm
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 0
Ammonia: 0
pH: 7.8
Magnesium: 1320 ppm

Iím also having a pretty bad hair algae problem right now so Iím working on getting the phosphates down and changing my light schedule to fix that. Also probably going to up my dose of all for reef to raise the calcium and alkalinity.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1329.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	174.5 KB
ID:	323093Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1321.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	137.4 KB
ID:	323094

__________________
abby_n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2022, 02:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,994
0 Nitrate is concerning. What do you feed 1) your fish and how often, and 2) your coral and how often? What is your light setup, tank size, and flow situation? I wouldnít worry too much about the PO4, youíll be chasing that number until you drive yourself crazy. Just manually remove whatever nuisance algae. The algae is likely sponging up your available NO3 (free coral food yay) and your corals could be hungry.

A full tank shot can definitely help.
__________________
Fish tanks are just complex math equations, but Iím not good with numbers.
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2022, 03:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,994
A quick Google search brought up a few things to explore:


Flow (not enough)
Built up detritus (usually due to above)
Nudibranch
__________________
Fish tanks are just complex math equations, but Iím not good with numbers.
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2022, 04:01 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Seattle
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
0 Nitrate is concerning. What do you feed 1) your fish and how often, and 2) your coral and how often? What is your light setup, tank size, and flow situation? I wouldnít worry too much about the PO4, youíll be chasing that number until you drive yourself crazy. Just manually remove whatever nuisance algae. The algae is likely sponging up your available NO3 (free coral food yay) and your corals could be hungry.

A full tank shot can definitely help.


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1185.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	251.2 KB
ID:	323095

Hereís the full tank! Toadstool is standing back up now so itís hard to see the hole.

It might be a good idea for me to retest the nitrate, that value was from a quick test strip. But that is a good point. I feed a mixture of brine shrimp (normal and spirulina infused) and a variety pack with fish eggs, copepods, and a meaty mixture of a couple things. Itís all frozen. For the coral I do aminos and sometimes phytoplankton. I used to use reef roids but my shrimp was harassing the coral too much when I would feed to the point where tentacles would come off / they would throw up. So I stopped.

And yeah I have been pulling out algae a lot but it feels like a bit of an uphill battle. Itís gotten to the point where itís blocking the light from some of the shorter corals :/
__________________
abby_n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2022, 04:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Seattle
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
A quick Google search brought up a few things to explore:


Flow (not enough)
Built up detritus (usually due to above)
Nudibranch


Good to know! Right now my flow situation is kind of lame. I have the built in outflow pump on the tank and then an extra pump on the side. But I just got a Nero 3 and will be adding it soon which would hopefully help of this is the issue. That should create flow that is a bit more dynamic as well!
__________________
abby_n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2022, 04:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by abby_n View Post
Good to know! Right now my flow situation is kind of lame. I have the built in outflow pump on the tank and then an extra pump on the side. But I just got a Nero 3 and will be adding it soon which would hopefully help of this is the issue. That should create flow that is a bit more dynamic as well!


So I own a Biocube and first that that stuck out to my seeing your pic was thereís no powerheadÖ set that Nero up ASAP. I have 2 of them on my Biocube.

That said, I know filtration is not optimal in these tanks. How are you set up in the back chambers?


Youíre overfeeding Iím guessing. You have plenty of nutrients theyíre just being sponged up by the algae. Iíd try to scrub that algae off with a brush and suck it out as often as you can. Start limiting feeding the aminos, and broadcasted food like that, and start feeding frozen only for the most part so the fish can eat. Youíre basically dumping all this food in and itís just settling in the rocks, then leaching back out in the form of algae, Iíd bet anywaysÖ flow will help bring excess food into the filtration as intended. Do start weekly water changes if you havenít. This will offset the lack of feeding extra amino acids, etc. Water changes are really a terrific way to feed your corals the trace elements they need plus keeping Alk/cal/mag replenished as well. That plus frozen food for your fish being processed will give corals the nitrate they feed on as well.

Scratch any test that involves strips. Invest in a titration kit like Red Sea Pro. Just my $.02.
__________________
Fish tanks are just complex math equations, but Iím not good with numbers.
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2022, 02:03 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Seattle
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flaxon-Waxon View Post
So I own a Biocube and first that that stuck out to my seeing your pic was thereís no powerheadÖ set that Nero up ASAP. I have 2 of them on my Biocube.

That said, I know filtration is not optimal in these tanks. How are you set up in the back chambers?


Youíre overfeeding Iím guessing. You have plenty of nutrients theyíre just being sponged up by the algae. Iíd try to scrub that algae off with a brush and suck it out as often as you can. Start limiting feeding the aminos, and broadcasted food like that, and start feeding frozen only for the most part so the fish can eat. Youíre basically dumping all this food in and itís just settling in the rocks, then leaching back out in the form of algae, Iíd bet anywaysÖ flow will help bring excess food into the filtration as intended. Do start weekly water changes if you havenít. This will offset the lack of feeding extra amino acids, etc. Water changes are really a terrific way to feed your corals the trace elements they need plus keeping Alk/cal/mag replenished as well. That plus frozen food for your fish being processed will give corals the nitrate they feed on as well.

Scratch any test that involves strips. Invest in a titration kit like Red Sea Pro. Just my $.02.


Thank you for the reply!

There is a power head but it is in the corner and thereís sort of a reflection blocking it in the picture. Either way, Iím pretty sure itís not enough which is why I have the additional one to add. Glad to hear that this is a good move.

In the back I switched out the filtration chamber that comes with the tank so now I have one section that is an algae refugium and another with bioballs, carbon, GFO, and filter floss. I also have a water director to ensure that everything by flows through that area. Thereís a protein skimmer back there too, but it doesnít seem to be very good. I wasnít finding many options that would fit in the biocube.

And thank you for the water change/ feeding tips. Any suggestions on ensuring that fish who live at the bottom, like gobies, get enough to eat? I worry about my diamond goby not getting as much food as everyone else and I could definitely see how I might be adding too much food in an effort to give him enough.

And yeah the test strips are not great. I kind of forgot I had them until today. Iíll retest the nitrate with an actual kit tomorrow.
__________________
abby_n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2022, 08:14 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,994
So correct me if Iím wrong, but seems like you upgraded to something like the InTank fuge and media baskets, and are using the Coralife V2 skimmer?

In terms of the goby, if you feed something like
mysis, there should be enough bits that will eventually sink to the bottom of the tank. Turn your pumps off when you feed and youíll see it. If that doesnít suffice, get something like a coral feeder (look kinda like a turkey baster) and spot feed some food in front of it.
__________________
Fish tanks are just complex math equations, but Iím not good with numbers.
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2022, 10:58 AM   #9
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 39,128
Is this diamond goby a sand sifter. I mean does it go around sifting up sand at the bottom of the tank. Most of them will do that but not all. If they are sifting then they are getting plenty of food unless your tank is brand new.
You can also sit there and take a toothbrush and rubber band it to some plastic tubing and siphon out the nuisance algea. Gently scrub the algae off the coral.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hole, toad, tool

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hole in toadstool?!?!? Infinity Aquascapes Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 08-24-2012 02:06 PM
HELP!!! there is a hole in my toadstool leather Alex&Jen Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 9 12-31-2009 04:35 PM
Help! My toadstool leather is developing a hole skennelly Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 5 08-11-2005 03:57 PM
Really Scary Toadstool, is my toadstool Dying? HELP evenings Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 3 10-22-2004 08:38 AM
Discoloration on Clownfish from Toadstool? New2Salt Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 01-31-2003 07:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.