How many Tangs ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

IfoundNemo

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a medium Kole tang and a small yellow tang right now. I want to add either a blue yellow tail tang, a PBT or maybe both in a couple of months. Will they be ok, or will this be too many tangs in a 75 gal?

I only have experience with Yellows so I have no first hand knowledge to offer, but general advice is to look at the Full Grown size of the fish you have and the fish you're considering. When purchasing fish you need to look ahead and make sure you won't have to give them up if they out grow your tank. For example, 5 or 6 fish that are 4 or 5 inches in size would be just fine.... but when they grow up, if they get to be 6 or 7 inches each you then have 6, 7-inch fish in your tank and things suddenly become crowded.

Aside from size issues, be sure you check agressiveness to be sure they're compatible. Just because they're all in the "Tang" family doesn't necessarly mean they'll get along.

Agreed, I went down this same road, check my signature. I will be looking for a home for the Orange shoulder in a few months.

Multiple tangs can be kept together, but usually require a larger swimming area. Again, consider the full size growth when purchasing. Not to mention the ones you are considering would probably be stressed by current occupants and more prone to disease. This was my experience when I foolishly tried to add a third to my already overstocked set-up. I wish I was more informed early on as well.