Ich and Coppersafe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Danton

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,
Newbie here. I have a 110 gallon tank that I'm treating for ich. No live rock or any inverts. 1 3" Bi-color Angel, 1 4" White Spotted Grouper, 1 3" Bursa Trigger, 1 12" Snowflake Eel and 4 damsels. All water parameters are perfect. Temp has been raised from 78' to 80.5' and specific gravity has been lowered
to .014 from .025. I've been treating with Coppersafe for one week now and the trigger got worse yesterday showing more spots. I just got a copper test today made by Seachem. The test results showed a copper reading of 1. ppm. I understand from reading old posts that it should be 1.5 to 2 but my test kit only goes to 1. Am I right about this? I have removed all carbon but do I also need to turn off the skimmer and uv sterilizer? I have just to be safe but wasn't sure. Any help appreciated...

Thanks,
Danton

If you have dropped the salinity why are you even using the med? I would just run hypo on the tank. You have no substrate or rock in this tank?

Remove the copper, fast. Water changes and carbon. You are seriously risking copper poisoning, especially with a test kit that isn't helping.

Once the copper is gone, reduce the salinity further to 1.009 or preferabley measured with a refractometer @ 14 ppt.

FWIW, when the test kit only goes so high, you dilute the sample with RO/DI water. :wink:

Cheers
Steve