Is this Ick

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stainless_wm

Aquarium Advice Activist
Well I cant show you the picture because its too big, But I bought a Yello Tang today, He's a little guy, The tank he was in looked great and every body looked pretty good.

I brougt him home, let him adjust for an hour and set him loose.

A few hours after that, I noticed little white spots on him. even on his fins.

I have never had Ick before so I dont really know what it looks like.

Does that sound like Ick?

Wade

Ick is described as looking like little salt grains on the body and fins. I'm no expert, but without a pic, your discription sounds like ick. Don't use a copper-based medication in your main tank, it's harmful to inverts. Do you have a QT? Is he in QT or in main?

Sometimes ick will clear up by itself, but depending on how bad it is, you may need to medicate, best to do that in a QT.

Run over to Walmart and get a 10 gallon tank for $10. and a small HOB filter,heater, etc. Stop at Home Depot on the way back and get a few 2" - 3" pvc elbows, 45's end caps etc. pieces that the fish can hide in while in QT.

Prepare your new Quarantine tank.

Use a Hyposalinity treatment for the next 6-8 weeks.

Ich will never clear up by itself. The fish may become strong enough to fight off the parasite but the parasite will remain in the tank waiting for a moment of weakness. Best to rid the main tank of it now. Treatment in a QT tank while keeping all fish out of the main tank for 6-8 weeks is the only way to do that.

Did he hide out in the live rock? I've had fish get pods stuck to them after hiding out. I've had to learn not to panic .....

Well I ran to walmart and got a 5 gallon hex, ran to the LFS got more crushed coral, and set up the hex tank.