New additions keep dying...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JDainHanson

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have had my 80 gallon tank for about 4 years now, before that I had a 55 gallon for about 5 years and a 25 gallon about a year before that so I've been keeping reef tanks for about 10 years now. Recently I moved and had to tear down my tank and move it about an hour and a half away to my new location. It was a complete reef tank with 2 fish in it and mostly LSP, Leathers, mushrooms and a rose bulb anemone, however, I decided I wanted to try something new and get more fish so I gave away most of my coral. I have now been set up for about 5 months in my new location but have been having major problems keeping any new fish alive for more than a week or so. I moved only a large leather, one rose bulb, and a couple of ricordia; my one fish I kept however didn't survive the move.

After about 2 weeks I started to add new fish, starting with a cinnamon clown, and then a week later a regal and yellow tang. The yellow tang lasted only about a week, but the regal tang and the clown are very healthy, and after attempting to add 5 other fish over the months, are the only fish I can keep alive.

At first I thought it may be the livestock at my LFS so I started to try other stores, but got the same results. I unfortunately live in an apartment and don't have room for a qt tank, but I acclimate them on a drip for about an hour, and am good about observing them in the stores before I buy them so I can't figure out what is going on. My tank params are all within the normal ranges, and my current livestock is extremely healthy, my rose bulb has actually split 3 times since the move leading me to believe its not anything having to do with water quality. I'm just at a loss here and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.