New Soft Coral seems sick... (PICS)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Myocyte

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Second post here, loving all the information!

I am new to the sw thing and I have been trying to read up in the past few days.

Switched 50 Gallon tank to sw, added live substrate and live rock and let the tank cycle for 4 days.

Yesterday I got a couple of starter corals from the lfs. Again, I don't know too much yet, but I think they are button polyps, bubble coral, and I cant remember the name of the other.

The buttons and bubble looked great yesterday after they were added to the tank and opened up. Today the buttons look partially closed and have a white growth on them.
photo 1 on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

The other soft coral, that I forget the name of seems like some of it died on the short trip home. It still has yet to open as fully as I saw it in the store and some of the nodes look discolored.
photo on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Thinking about doing a pwc, but I am interested to know, is there a common coral disease that I can treat for/ prevent next time?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

:)

It's good practice to post your water parameters whenever you have a question about something like this.

For the polyps you have they are just getting acclimated give them time. However looks like a not so nice little aiptasia nem right in the middle of them. Looks like you also have a terrible Valiona(bubble algae) problem.

Looks like the second one is a pulsing xenia but I'm not positive there.

Just post your water parameters and people will be able to help more.

Thanks for the prompt reply Tweak. I will get parameters up asap. I realized I still have a freshwater test kit, so I need to get one for sw.

Why is bubble algae a 'problem'? Is it invasive/ aggressive?

Thanks again.