nipped fins advice yellow goby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lyonsee27

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I've just bought a yellow clown goby/yellow rock goby and made my first big reef keeping mistake. firstly i didnt choose exectly which goby i wanted and secondly didnt inspect him properly i was im a distracted. i brought him home and added him to the tank and when looking closer at home noticed he has tatty fins are these just nips from other fish? will they grow back? if so how long? what health issues should i look for? im new at reef keeping so please go easy, please help thanks.:confused:

Welcome to AA. First, tell us about your tank and some water parameters.
Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate and SG. As far as the fins. It all depends on how bad they are nipped. Keep the water as clean as you can. How well do you know the LSF? You may be able to return it for one in better shape.