Ph

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
What the water is out of the tap doesn't really matter, does it? What is the pH after you add the salt mix? That's really the number that's important.

When you mix up your water, if the ph is still really low, you can always use some baking soda to bring the ph up to where you want it. Don't add baking soda directly to the DT though, bad things might happen.

PH

I was just worried about using that RO water as my top off water
that has the 4 ph, when I add salt it takes a few days to buffer
up to 8.2 or so by adding buffer every single day:( I ordered some
ph drops last nite to try and I'll see how that works.
I'm so glad I have been drinking low ph water for 10 years
without knowing it. Hope it isn't eating my insides out.

Are we talking about tap/well water or RO water?

If you're worried about the pH of RO water, don't. Measuring the pH of RO water is about as meaningful as you knowing my shoe size. In other words... it doesn't matter. RO removes nearly all of what pH measures, so what you end up measuring is normally just the left over contaminants in a container or test tube. Any little bit of contamination will throw a pH measurement off one way or another.

Using RO water without buffer for top offs will do just fine. Even tap water without buffer would be fine, from a pH standpoint. But I wouldn't use tap because of the contaminants.

4.0 ph Well water that has run thru an RO unit before salt is introduced.
I have been topping off with that and it hasn't killed them, it may
keep the ph from going way up anyway. Thanks for the info!!

So are you adding salt to the system after topping off the water, in order to raise the pH?