Please help!!! Newbie with sick fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

misterteejay

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok, I am new to the saltwater hobby, but have been reading on this site for a while and appreciate all the people in here. Here is my dilema....

I have a 120g that recently 2weeks ago finished cycling. I have friends who have tanks and sware by this guy at our lfs. He sold me a flame, a scopas, coral beauty and a yellow tank all with in about 3 days apart. Recently I lost my CB to ick and and eye problem. I was told to run Kick-Ick and the others should be fine. It has been 4 days now and the flame is now covered in ick and my scopas has it along with a cloudy eye. All my water tests check out and I have boosted the temp.

Am I dead in the water because I dont have a QT? What could have caused this? The guy at the LFS says it happens and that the kick ick will take care of it, but I do not feel comfotable with that answer. Thanks.

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com :)

Kick ick and the like (reef safe meds) are hit and miss at best. They simpley lack the potency to properly eliminate the parasite. Any med that would work properly would also kill all the inverts and fauna within your display tank. C. irritans as well as many other ailments are quite common in newly transported/aquired fish. The only way to be sure you do not introduce it to your main display is through the proper use of a <<quarantine tank>>. All new fish should be QT'd for at least 4 weeks first.

I realize you do not have one but I would definately suggest you get one as soon as possible. The fish you have now are quite large so a 20 gal long would be the minimum. When treating C. irritans <<hyposalinity>> is the easiest on the fish but unless you have a refractometer, I would opt for <<Cupramine>> but both must be done in a QT, not the display tank.