Sick puffer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bpeitzke

Aquarium Advice Activist
Our 5" speckled green puffer has white stuff on the ends of his right pectoral fin, the fin is eroded, and he's been not fanning it (usually his pec fins are fanning nonstop). It looks like there's a bit of white stuff at his right gill outlet too.

Appreciate any advice on how to get him well, and whether it would affect our 3 other fish (who look fine now).

Remember that our new flame angel died ~ 2 weeks ago; I think he brought something bad into the tank. But his symptoms were different.

36-gal FOWLR, 2-3" CC substrate, NH3/NO2/PH OK, salinity ~ 1.023.

Bob Peitzke

I think it's kind of sad that your last thread got seriously side-tracked. But maybe it didn't matter once the angel had died (sorry).

I'm new at this, but I do LOTS of serious reading. I have a feeling your 36 gal. tank is badly overstocked with too large fish. Did you ever test for nitrate? That's crucial. Ammonia and nitrite can be at zero, and if you have high nitrates, it's a polluted environment for your fish. I've heard this compared to breathing polluted air. You can breathe it, but your lungs start hurting!
I know I have zero ammonia and nitrite, but I can't seem to get the nitrate below ten no matter what!!

Sorry no advice on getting everyone well right now, but do check ALL your tank parameters!!

Re: sick puffer

>>I have a feeling your 36 gal. tank is badly overstocked with too large fish.<<