sudden deaths, plz help!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shellygirl55

Aquarium Advice Activist
ok, i am really new to this hobby, so don't roast me :)

within the last couple of days i have lost some of my corals, and have done some reading, and am kind of confused, so i am begging you guys for some real advice...

within the last couple of days my zoo colonies have started dying off. i picked up a couple of new frags a couple of weeks ago, and today i have noticed that one ( of course my fav) has compleatly died off. also a couple of my more established zoo colonies have closed up compleatly and don't seem to be opening. i have looked at these colonies for white dots ( read about this in the forum) and don't see any spots, but other than that i don't know what else to do. i read somewhere that people should do a dip in fresh water?? is that true? also is it just normal ro, or do you add something? does it mess up your zoos? how long do you dip for? apparently i should have done this when i brought them home, i am hoping i don't learn the hard way....

also even more concerning, i am starting to loose heads on my frogspawn. so far i have lost 3 in the last couple of days. my remaining heads look great and happy as they normally do, and all of my other corals look great too...

on one more note, i have a couple bubble tip anenomnies in there and one of them kiips moving around, almost like it's restless... is this a sign of something going wrong that i can't test for?

oh yes, it may help you all to know some specifics of the tank :)... i have a 140g. custom set up with 1 150 mh and 1 250 mh with acenic blue t5's. i run a protein skimmer, a fuge, a 40g sump... i am not sure what else to tell you about that so let me know if you have any questions on my system.