Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-11-2012, 01:14 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
what's wrong with montipora

I thought he was bleaching so I moved him to the side of the halides lights. Now he just looks worse.

Sg: 1.025
Ammo: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 5-10 (api test never hits on the colors on chart for me its always inbetween)
Calcium: 420
Alk: 10.5
Mag: don't test
Strontium: don't test
phosphate: .1-.2

I am having a phosphate problem probably over feeding so I picked up some phosguard yesterday. I don't think I forgot to list anything else. This monti use to be a nice pinkish red but now he's browning out. Any ideas



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120211_131302.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	66.8 KB
ID:	75969
__________________

__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Sev7nseas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida,Miami
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Sev7nseas
look for something called rowaphos that's the best,that phosguard won't do it.trust me you'll be getting back to me, telling me it works!!lol
__________________

__________________
Sev7nseas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 04:50 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
I was looking at their reactors. I'm thubkjbg of getting a reef octopus phosphorate reactor. But now u seem to have higher nitrates this week and my millipora isn't expanding its tenticals. This is the first problem ive had since setting up 6 months ago. Have heard anything about the biopellet reactors out there?
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 05:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
How long have you had it?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 03:26 PM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
A month about maybe more. Thing is I am also losing a millipora one if my favorites. 4 days ago it stopped expanding its tenticals and I thought it was the nitrate so I did 10 percent changes every day till it was zero. Ive had him since december and it was growing new columns then al the sudden bang no expansion and today its bleaching on the tips
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 03:29 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
All my lps are doing great and my sps seem to be taking a turn for the worst. These are my first sps.

Ammo 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate between 0 and 5
Cal 420
Alk 10.5
Phosphate still at .1 or so but going down. I have had higher phosphate from the start
Salinity 34 ppt

Other than that I don't measure anything else like strontium or mag
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 08:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
What test kits are you using to get these readings?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:03 PM   #8
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
All api except alk which is salifert
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I think your calcium is low then. API gives me consistent high calcium readings. I don't think that has much to do with the bleaching though. Where do you have them in the tank? they are not super high light sps.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:24 PM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
I have it top of the second third if ky tank. It's as high as the rocks go under 150w mh and pc actinic. The api does seem to give high readings and the nitrate test blows. I don't know how other nitrate tests go but I bet salifert is better. This happened so fast. Atleast the acros are doing good for the moment. Never had a problem before. Everyone always says bad things happen fast
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:10 AM   #11
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
It's hard to tell with that pic, but it looks to me like there is some cyano on the rocks. If that's the case you have a high nutrient level in your tank. SPS corals do not like high nutrients where it doesn't both LPS as much because they come from higher nutrient laden waters. Unless you have access to a high tech lab, there is no way for the average person to test their nutrient levels.
Are you running carbon? If so, what brand, how are you using it and how often do you change it out?
Do you have a protein skimmer? If so, what brand?
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 10:37 AM   #12
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Coralife 125 skimmer and as far as carbon its just aquaclear brand. I got the cyano under control now. I almost have it gone just a few spots that keep coming back and by the monti is one of them
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:03 AM   #13
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
If you are serious about keeping SPS corals long term, I would suggest getting a better skimmer (the Coralife SuperSkimmer 125 is junk) and use a high quality carbon, such as ROX 0.8 and use it in a reactor.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:01 AM   #14
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
I just got a sump going and am going to buy an Aqua c ev120. O haven't had any good ways to run media so I was thinking of a fluidized reactor. Reef octopus has some
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:03 AM   #15
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
I made the mistake of buffering my ph and I think that's what hsppened. It's steady now but was swinging last night
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:12 AM   #16
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I use this reactor to run my carbon. The kit comes with a pump and all the hoses and fittings you need.
Poly Reactor Multi Media Reactor | Chemical Reactors | Reactors | Aquarium - ThatPetPlace.com
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 04:21 PM   #17
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Thats nice and cheap. I was going to make my own but the acrylic tubes I looked at ate just ad much ad one that comes with a pump and everything so why not buy one u know
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 04:25 PM   #18
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
What size tank do u run it on. It will work in my 55g. Just wondering what u got
__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:08 PM   #19
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
125g reef. I use it to run 15 tablespoons of ROX carbon. It's plenty big enough.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 05:24 PM   #20
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
I think my millipora may be coming around. He's getting his tip color back and has half his tenticals out. I have a feeling its cuz I messed with the ph. It's steady now at 8. I just can't get my water to to above that no matter how much I add oxygen to it. I don't test for do so maybe I'm not adding as much as I think I am I don't know
__________________

__________________
Jason M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this bad luck, or am I doing something wrong?... BobbyMac15 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 12-21-2011 03:59 PM
Hybrids/Crossbreeds absolutangel04 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 196 12-20-2011 05:21 PM
I think i'm doing this wrong jataft83 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 07-22-2011 02:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.