Adopted abandoned fish left to die

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fcovey

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I acquired a male betta and a common pleco fish a couple months ago as they had been abandoned in an apartment next to me and I couldn't just let them die. They were in a cracked 10 gallon tank with no substrate or decoration so I went and immediately bought a 20 gallon tank, 20 pounds worth of gravel, a hidey hole (small barrel type thing) for the pleco and a few fake plants for decorations. I'm a college student and I wasn't really expecting to suddenly adopt fish so I wasn't able to purchase a lot of the things I'm sure they need. I have the dechlorinator and they seem to be healthier already but I want to take the best care possible of them that I can and perhaps add a couple more fish someday. I learned how to set up the tank the best I could with what I had on hand but that's about it. My tank currently has a terrarium lid just to keep my cat out of it, but I basically just have algae wafers, bloodworms, betta food, and that's it. I know I need a ton of stuff but I don't even know where to start, especially on a budget. So if you guys could tell me the absolute necessities, things I can wait on and what not I would really appreciate it. I never imagined I'd have fish but I've grown attached and if anyone has suggestions about fish I can add later when I have a better setup that cohabitat well with bettas and plecos would be greatly appreciated.

Here's a couple pictures of my babies, MoonBeam, my pleco, and Starry for my betta. He wouldn't hold still for a pic but I think his colors should still be brighter than they are. Granted, when I got him he was nearly dead so even a little color makes me happy right now.

Attachments

• 20170911_195713.jpg
    20170911_195713.jpg
    193 KB · Views: 65
  • 20170911_195926.jpg