Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-14-2019, 11:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Geelong, Vic, Aus
Posts: 2
Ammoina Issues

Recently my partner and I have set up a new tank for our tropical fish. It's a 90L Aqua one AR-620, cleaned everything and set it up. Treated the water and waited several hours before transferring them into the tank. A couple of days later the water went really cloudy, we did a about 15% water change because it was late at night we couldn't do anymore. The next day the water was even worst. We still had their old tank set up so we moved them back in there for the time. We did a complete water change, cleaned up any waste that was in the gravel, treated the water. A couple of days have passed and we've just let it cycle, but I tested the water this morning and the ammonia levels are still high.
Please help, we are stumped.
__________________

__________________
_Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 11:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Sam View Post
Recently my partner and I have set up a new tank for our tropical fish. It's a 90L Aqua one AR-620, cleaned everything and set it up. Treated the water and waited several hours before transferring them into the tank. A couple of days later the water went really cloudy, we did a about 15% water change because it was late at night we couldn't do anymore. The next day the water was even worst. We still had their old tank set up so we moved them back in there for the time. We did a complete water change, cleaned up any waste that was in the gravel, treated the water. A couple of days have passed and we've just let it cycle, but I tested the water this morning and the ammonia levels are still high.

Please help, we are stumped.
The tank wasn't cycled therefor that's why you have ammonia, you can't just take fish out of an established tank and put them in a non established tank without transferring gravel and or filters that have been running in the established aquarium, you need to leave them in the established tank they are in now (the old one) and let the new one go through the cycling process
__________________

__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 11:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Geelong, Vic, Aus
Posts: 2
So even though we have done a complete water change, cleaned the gravel, etc. We should still expect the ammoina level to be high, without fish, untill it's been through a full cycle?
__________________
_Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 11:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Potluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Sam View Post
So even though we have done a complete water change, cleaned the gravel, etc. We should still expect the ammoina level to be high, without fish, untill it's been through a full cycle?
Yes, cleaning doesn't matter, all new tanks will go through the cycling process UNLESS, you take everything from the other tank, filters /gravel /decor and put them in the new tank, you cannot let anything dry out in this process though, but to be on the safe side I would just seed the other tank and let it cycle keeping fish in the already cycled tank then transfer fish, shouldn't take more than 3 weeks.

Water doesn't hold nitrifying bacteria which is the bacteria in your filter/ gravel/ Decor that eat ammonia and nitrite and turn them into nitrate.
__________________
Rick
Potluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 12:26 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 3,206
+1 Potluck. Removing 15% of the water means you still had 85% ammonia water in the tank.

As was stated. Take a scoop of gravel from the old tank and put in a pantyhose or cotton filter sock and put it in the new tank. Add a decoration from the old tank and put it in the new tank. Then add pure ammonia or fish food to the new tank so you feed the bacteria you placed in it. Wait a couple weeks or so. Do a couple big, 50%, water changes back to back then add your fish. It would be a good idea to purchase an API Freshwater Master Test Kit and test the water as you go.
__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on water issues and tank set-up Sam Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-17-2003 09:44 AM
Filtration/Water Quality Issues with Fry Brandon General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 05-26-2003 09:12 AM
Photo Gallery issues hisc1ay Forum Admin & Announcements 1 11-30-2002 09:07 AM
My ALK test results - any issues? IndyReef Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-13-2002 10:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.