Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-08-2021, 03:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 1
Ammonia problem?? Please help

Hi,

I have a 20 gallon thatís currently having a huge ammonia problem, the levels are off the charts (Iím using API Ammo Lock to the ty and keep my fish from dying) and I need to move some fish out. The ammonia levels are measuring at 4ppm. Iím using the API Freshwater master test kit. I did a 50% water change last night and right after and this morning the ammonia was measuring the same as before the change. Iím going to be doing 20-25% water changes every day for the next week.

Another thing is that I changed the substrate of the tank last week, from gravel to to sand. It wasnít live sand, but it seemed to be fine and I added API quick start to replace the lost bacteria.

The fish inside are 4 Dalmatian Mollies, 6 Kuhli Loaches, and 3 neon tetras. Thereís no live plants. There was a snail in there too, but last night they died.

I have a small 5 gallon that has never had any fish and has been cycling for at least 2 weeks now, but when I went to test the water to see if I could move the tetras into it to relieve some stress from the 20 gallon the water measured at 1-2ppm of ammonia!? Thereís no reason for there to be ammonia in that tank that I can think of. I donít know what to do to fix this. None of the factors that could be affecting the 20 gallon should be affecting the 5 gallon.

I tested the tap water from the sink I use to for aquarium water and it didnít have any ammonia in it, so Iím not sure where itís coming from.

Please give any advice you can

__________________
FoolsGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2021, 08:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mother of fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 104
I am unfamiliar with your issue, this forum is pretty dead, I would recommend joining fishlor. You will get help with in a couple minutes of posting
__________________
Mother of fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 05:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,033
Can someone please just remove Mother of fish from the forum already.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 06:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mother of fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 104
Wow. If you can't help, don't reply. Dont be a jerk.
__________________
Mother of fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 06:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mother of fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoolsGold View Post
Hi,

I have a 20 gallon thatís currently having a huge ammonia problem, the levels are off the charts (Iím using API Ammo Lock to the ty and keep my fish from dying) and I need to move some fish out. The ammonia levels are measuring at 4ppm. Iím using the API Freshwater master test kit. I did a 50% water change last night and right after and this morning the ammonia was measuring the same as before the change. Iím going to be doing 20-25% water changes every day for the next week.

Another thing is that I changed the substrate of the tank last week, from gravel to to sand. It wasnít live sand, but it seemed to be fine and I added API quick start to replace the lost bacteria.

The fish inside are 4 Dalmatian Mollies, 6 Kuhli Loaches, and 3 neon tetras. Thereís no live plants. There was a snail in there too, but last night they died.

I have a small 5 gallon that has never had any fish and has been cycling for at least 2 weeks now, but when I went to test the water to see if I could move the tetras into it to relieve some stress from the 20 gallon the water measured at 1-2ppm of ammonia!? Thereís no reason for there to be ammonia in that tank that I can think of. I donít know what to do to fix this. None of the factors that could be affecting the 20 gallon should be affecting the 5 gallon.

I tested the tap water from the sink I use to for aquarium water and it didnít have any ammonia in it, so Iím not sure where itís coming from.

Please give any advice you can
I would do 40% changes daily and keep adding quick start. Keep me updated.
__________________
When in doubt, ask a betta. Just don't expect them to reply.
Mother of fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 06:49 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mother of fish View Post
Wow. If you can't help, don't reply. Dont be a jerk.

I pay an annual fee to support this forum and you are advising people to go elsewhere in a number of posts now. If you want to be a part of this community keep advice within the community.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 06:56 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ulrichsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 444
I suspect that switching the substrate released the ammonia - sand can get really dirty. I would do a 50% water change and see if that cuts the ammonia down.
__________________
60 gallon 48"l w/ Labidochromis caeruleus, Pseudotropheus acei, Pseudotropheus demasoni
Ulrichsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2021, 08:27 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Mother of fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulrichsd View Post
I suspect that switching the substrate repressed the ammonia - sand can get really dirty. I would do a 50% water change and see if that cuts the ammonia down.
I agree
__________________
When in doubt, ask a betta. Just don't expect them to reply.
Mother of fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, problem

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help! Having problem access to pure ammonia in malaysia Lucy_226 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 07-28-2015 03:19 AM
Help!!! Pet shop said ammonia and recommended ammonia remover & now things seem wors Tezhar Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 10-04-2013 08:32 PM
Help with fish-in cycling, high ammonia and tap water has ammonia Squall Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 10-17-2011 07:53 PM
Possible Hydro Sponge Filter Problem? Big Problem or Little Problem? Frank15 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 03-05-2010 01:47 AM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 04:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.