best dropsy treatment? HELP QUICK!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nuggetthefishy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi! My name's Pixie and I need help.
I noticed that my goldfish had a swollen belly. I did some research on it, and dropsy was the first to come up. I have bought Maracyn, but I'm not able to get a separate hospital tank or water heater. I'm very attached to my fish, and euthanasia isn't something I'd like to resort to.
My fish is a fancy goldfish. I haven't seen pineconing yet, but its belly is quite big. It sometimes sits at the bottom of the tank.
I'm very new to fish-owning, and never did the nitrogen cycle to my tank, which worries me. I have some good bacteria in it, and the ammonia levels are at .25, which I'll be treating tomorrow.
What treatment methods can I use? Where can I buy Epsom salt? Is the environment safe for the treatment? Would it be okay to use its current tank instead of a separate one, since I don't own any other fish? Do I need to feed it special food?
PLEASE help me, and be specific. I don't want my fishy to die. :fish1:
Thank you all!

Hi :)
I'll do my best to help you and your goldfish, as will everybody here. The more detail you can provide us with, the better, so I'm going to ask quite a few questions. Hope you don't mind. :)
How big is your tank?
Just to confirm, you said this is your only fish, correct? If not, what other fish do you have and what kinds?
May we see a picture of your sick goldie to help with diagnosing?
How old is your goldfish?
How often do you do water changes?
What are you using to monitor your water parameters? An API water test kit, which allows you to easily test ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and PH levels is highly recommended.
What water conditioner are you using? Since you never cycled the tank, Prime would be an excellent choice.
What is the temperature of your tank?