Betta died (columnaris) - now how do I treat tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

padderson

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm rather new at all this aquarium stuff and have tried to do my "homework", but i failed at catching cottonmouth in my Betta and it died this morning.

As of a couple months ago, I bought a new 20g tank as my main tank, and relegated my original 10g tank as my quarantine/hospital tank. When I stocked my new tank, I didn't realize that Bettas and Dwarf Gouramis don't do well together--I realized it instantly when I tried to add the new Gouramis into the quarantine tank and the Betta instantly flared up! So the Gouramis went straight into the new tank and the single Betta stayed back in the quarantine tank (which made my daughter happy b/c it's in a place where she can see it more often).

So in the 10g Quarantine tank we had 1 Betta, 2 Zebra Danios (yes..I know you are supposed to have 5, but the others died and I haven't been able to add any more yet), and 3 guppy fry (about 3 weeks).

Recently I tried adding 2 Otos that I received from live aquaria. They both made it about a week in the quarantine tank, but then died. I also replaced the starter cheap-o plastic plants with better quality silk plants…so there have been many disruptions and changes to the 10g tank. I did regular water changes…at least 1x a week, but 2x per week when the Otos died. And I've checked all water parameters and they are fine. So I think either the addition of the new fish and or serious tank disruption in changing plants, etc, must have been my downfall.