Betta fish not doing well

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HeatherW

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am still quite new to the fish business, but I am sure my Betta fish is not doing well! I have had him for 8 days now and he hardly ever eats. I mean really! I think he has eaten maybe either one or two pieces of the betta food (little balls) and I even tried some frozen blood worms. I think he might have eaten one. He looks like he is loosing some of his scales on the top of his head? and now maybe some on his sides as well. he was swimming around fine yesterday, but now again today he is not really swimming much at all and looks a little funny. he did this before and that is when he actually ate one piece of food and then with in a few hours he started swimming around again like normal.

My water is not great. I keep doing water changes but it is not working very well. He was in a 2.5 gallon tank with 5 neon tetras. yesterday I moved my platys out of my 5 gallon, emptied about 90 - 95% of the water, refilled, let it run for 24 hrs and then moved the betta and tetras into the 5 gallon. the water paramaters on both the 2.5 and 5 gallon were equally poor, so I figured the move would not hurt them anymore and the bigger tank was better. the top of the tank (the water surface) looks kinda nasty, but I don't know how to make it go away. I keep changing the water and it keeps coming out of the filter. I even took the charcoal part of the filter thing out and rinsed it and it is still happening. don't know if that is my problem or not. the neons seem to be fine. everyone is eating except the Betta.

I am only checking the Ammonia and Nitrite levels right now since I am changing the water so frequently. The nitrates were 0 last time I checked.

Ammonia 1.0
Nitrites 0