Betta keeps getting fungus

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yanamya

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, folks.

I am relatively new to the hobby (coming up on a year), and have a male betta (Bob) that keeps getting fungus. When I first introduced him to my 10-gallon cycled tank about two months ago, I added him along with 5 WCMMs, who ended up being nippy and stressing him out to the point of him developing fin rot.

I removed the WCMMs into my larger cold-water tank and successfully treated my betta with aquarium salt and Bettafix over the course of a week, and he was active and doing well until a couple of days ago, when he developed what appears to be a fungus. It's a whitish, cloudy-looking slime on his back fins.

I immediately moved him into a 3.5-gallon quarantine tank with a heater and sponge filter set to a gentle setting. I dosed the tank with aquarium salt, KanaPlex, Bettafix, and today did a Methylene Blue dip for 10 seconds, as the growth seemed to have grown a bit overnight.

The water test came back with the following parameters (ammonia = 0, nitrites = 0, nitrates = 0, temp = 75 degrees F, pH = 8.2). While I recognize that my pH is a bit high, it's been stable every time I've tested the tank. I can't account for why it's so much higher than my tap water (7.2), so if anybody has insights on that, I'd love to get it lowered.

The tank is a 10-gallon planted and has been set up for 3 months. I cycled it fish-free for a month before adding in the first batch of inhabitants: the betta, 5 WCMM, two nerite snails, and 2 Amanos. I have since removed the minnows as mentioned and added in 8 cherry shrimp.