black moor...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Annie/Aggie

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm a newbie and am curious as to what colour poop my black moor should have? At the moment it's an off-white colour, kinda long and stringy like. Thanks.

Possible internal infection but only if the fish exhibits other symptoms.

If should be the color of whatever you feed it in a long but not stringy sausage like appearance.

That would means it's digesting normally.

Long stringy poop means constipation. Try increasing vegetable matter (peas are good) in feedings.

White poop may be some kind of internal infection, but only if it is long & thin like a thread. I wouldn't worry too much if this is just an occassional thing & the fish is otherwise acting normally.

I would first feed the peas as suggested. Take frozen peas, blanch them and skin them and cut them or mush them into bite sized pieces. Do not feed other food for a day or so.

I hope you have a nice 20 gallon tank for the little guy. Long white poop is usually a parasite problem. Good tank conditions and a little parasite meds should clear that up. Just out of curiosity how big is he/she? Black is the most unstable coloration in goldfish and most turn white or orange as they get bigger. Sunlight is said to help the black stay, but it would also encourage algae growth in a tank.

Thanks for the advice, he eats goldfish flakes, the brown and white kind. it is long and string -like but there seems to be no other problems. I'll definitely try the peas. He's a black moor about 3 inches in a 10 gallon, with an algae eater. I tested the water and everything is normal in the tank. If he had a parasite, what other symptoms would he have? Thanks.