Cannot figure this one out, any help greatly appreciated

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jimi409

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting and I wish it were under better circumstances. My wife and I are at our wits end. We have a 55 gallon tank which is very healthy (levels are all withing acceptable range, will post exact numbers if someone asks). This tank has been established for about 2 years and our fish do very well. We have 4 parrot cichlids, two plecos, dojos, loaches and a cory. Our largest cichlid started getting a swollen belly so we assumed at first that she was full of eggs, it has happened before. After 2 weeks, she wasn't laying eggs and her appetite was decreasing. She was nesting, but the two females (her and another) always fight over territory so this was nothing new. We didn't think it was bloat or dropsy because her scales are close to her body. We also didn't think she was full of eggs because her birthing tube hadn't dropped. By this time she was looking very uncomfortable but still acting pretty normal. We decided to quarantine her in another tank so we could monitor her eating and excretions. After 3 days of watching her, she wasn't eating or pooping. We decided to treat her as if she was constipated. We tried the pea trick by manually feeding her pea meat (inside of the pea) soaked in a multivitamin bath but she kept spitting out the peas. For the past week and a half we have been giving her epsom salt baths for 20 mins at a time. We started with once a day and now do it twice a day. 2 days in to the baths her anus became enlarged and she was excreting a very small amount of what looks like a fluffy or stringy mucousy substance. I hate to use those general terms because I don't want to taint anyone's diagnosis with fungal infection symptoms ( although that may be the case). Again, it