Cichlid not eating.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheCrazyFishLady

Aquarium Advice Addict
So, like three weeks after my fish not eating, he finally has a visible symptom. The white stringy poo. So, parasites it is then.

Just a couple of quick questions. Since it is so far into his sickness, what sort of damage has he most likely gone through?

What would you suggest to treat him with? I would prefer to go the most light way possible, but of course I am willing to do whatever it takes. I will look through all my medicines to see what I have on hand after classes.

He is still active and happy. Is this a good sign?

This is my first time dealing with parasites, so I'm a little anxious.

The most common treatment for internal parasites is metronizadole (treats internal parasitic & bacterial infections). Im guessing he is still not eating? If he is eating, then i would use metro medicated food (such as metromeds). If he is not or only eating a little, then metronizadole treatment for the water. Theraputic aq salt is also helpful. As far as the degree of internal damage, it is quite difficult to know the extent & severity. Hopefully, he will recover without any issues! Good luck!!

i reccomend a salt bath, maybe removing the fish into a qt tank and salting it up, while also dousing the main tank with salt since parasites would remain in there too - if only the ones left in the faesces. raising the temp helps too.