Clamped Fins

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Migs

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,
I need your help. I purchased a Calico Oranda Goldfish 2 weeks ago. I tried to quarantine him but got desperate and after the first week and I transferred him/her over to my 40gallon to join my 2 other Fancys's.
After this he/she hasn't been the same or as active as my other 2. I've noticed that the fins are Clamped for most of the time. Bottom line it looks a bit sick.
What should I do? I don't want to loose him/her or any of the others. Are the others infected at this point?
I think it might be a parasite. Please help!
Thank you.

Hi!

I'm not very experienced with illnesses but I have a couple of questions just to rule out the obvious:

How long have your tanks been set up? Have they been properly cycled? What are your ammonia, nitrite, nitrate levels in the 40 gal?

Are clamped fins the only symptom? Is it eating, swimming OK, rubbing against anything, etc?

Hello there and thank you in advanced for the reply. My current 40gallon has been established for about 3 months now with my current 2 goldies and properly cycled 2 months prior to adding them. I couldn't tell you right now what the reading are because I'm not home at the moment but my other Goldies have been fine.
I did notice last night that he was on occasion rubbing against the gravel, but he was very very week. This morning I found him against the filter, I thought he was dead! But thankfully not. I quickly transferred him over to my 10 gallon and put some aquarium salt as recommended on the label. He never lost his appetite but this morning did not seem hungry.q
I hate this , I don't want to lose him!

It could be a case of stress due to being picked on as the newbie in the tank. But I'm not an expert on Goldies. I know that they have very high bio loads and can get bloat fairly easy.