Dwarf Gouramis not acting normally, lethargic.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rgillmatthew

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, so some background.
I am relatively new to fish keeping my tank has only been set up since February. I let it run for a couple weeks with no fish. I then added 2 dwarf Gouramis and an Emerald Corey. Unfortunately the cory died a few weeks ago. He had gotten stuck in the intake on my filter. I have since put a sponge cover on the intake. I had a pretty bad algae growth I suspect due to having very reflective white paint in my room that was reflecting light indirectly on my tank. About 2 weeks ago I started using API Algaefix to try and curb the algae, needless to say it didn’t seem to be working despite following the directions on the bottle. So on Sunday I did a large water change about 75-80% and ran the décor and fake plants under hot water. I also used my algae sponge to wipe down the glass. I did my normal gravel vac as well. I use an Aqueon quiet flow 30 HOB for my filter. I noticed the cartridge was absolutely clogged with algae and was not allowing water through like it should’ve. I also run an air stone on the other side of the tank from the filter. I put everything back almost exactly as it was before I deep cleaned it. When I filled the tank up I discovered that the water was too warm it was 88 F. While I was doing the cleaning I had placed the 2 gouramis into a new Pyrex (an 8 cup ) I had got to fill the tank originally, they were in water from the tank prior to cleaning. They stayed in the Pyrex container until the water cooled down enough to put them back. I realize the enormous amount of stress I created for them in doing that. I checked the water parameters ph was 7.2, 0ppm ammonia, 0 ppm nitrite, and an in between reading of 0-5 ppm nitrate. So I was thinking ok good I haven’t completely collaps