Dying Silver Dollars

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sundeep

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I am new to this hobby,
I have a major problem, I have a 10Gallon tank with 6 neon tetras and a betta in it.

Everything was good till i brought home 3 tiny silver dollards (1.5")

Within one hour, they were dead, taking my betta with it.. pet store replaced them and out of the new ones, two are dead and one is on the way out,
What ever is in my tank has also killed my betta, yet my neon tetras seem healthy.

I noticed a milky web around the silver dollars when i was removing them from the tank.

My remaining silver dollar is very slow and doped out, neons are lightning fast and i can never net them.

Betta had whitish ends on his fins.

Can someone please help, this sad occourance has discouraged me continuing this hobby

Thanks

Sundeep

Firstly sundeep WELCOME to Aquarium Advice.

I would defiantly say that your 10 gal tank is far to over crowded. What are your parameters of the tank ie.. Ammonia / nitrite / nitrate. All the the above fish would be totally stressed out in a tank of that size, and if the water parameters are not right that would stress them even more.
The other thing is that the silver dollars that you brought are not ideal for a 10 gal tank as they grow to 6-8in. If the guy/girl in your lfs knows you have a 10gal tank he/she want's shooting for selling them to you.

The neons and the fighter are fine in a 10 gal but not the silver dollars. I would say take a deep breath and a step backwards and start again, it would be a shame for you to give up so quickly over such a minor problem.

Please post back with your water parameters, if you haven't got the test kits needed take a sample of water to you lfs and ask them to check it for you. And while your there take the other dollar back.