Fish deaths, high Nitrates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rachsw

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a Biorb 30 litre fish tank, I've included a heater (26 C) and it's been running for just over a year. I'm new to fish and this was my first tank so I wasn't too knowledgeable about the amount of fish I could have so up until two months ago it had 2 mollies, 1 platy, 1 guppy and 2 amano shrimp. To my eyes this wasn't overstocked, in fact I thought I was giving them a lot more room than the bare minimum. The water was good and I regularly changed it but then over the course of 1 week they began to drop like flies and I only managed to save 1. The shrimp are still in there, completely unbothered. I thought there might have been an internal bacteria being passed from fish to fish that wasn't affecting the shrimp, but by looking on the internet I realised it was probably because it was overstocked. Since I've put 1 fish in there to test it and it was dead the next morning. I've kept doing water tests with test strips but they were good with no signs of anything wrong. So I went out and bought a liquid test kit yesterday which has shown this: Ph - 9.0, Ammonia - 0.1mg/l, Nitrite - 0.0mg/l, Nitrate - 75mg/l