Fish dying, no visible illness?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

booginish

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok i have no idea what i am dealing with, my fish are showing no symptoms of sickness, but there dieing over night, i cant diagnose the problem when there are no symptoms, every morning one of my fish are missing and then i find there carcuss. i have no idea what to do. here is all my info posted on a previous thread http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f17/fin-rot-or-not-113949.html i didnt get an answer from anyone useful, im sorry if i sound like a jerk, but i want help from some of the experts on the site, i really need help. iv raised my temp to 85 and added a bit of aquarium salt.

Im not an expert so sorry if this doesn't help much but I do know that temp above 82 can kill alot of tropical fish. Not sure if your fish are at type that can tolerate higher temps but you could check in to that.

Also I think your tank has to be those high temps for a couple weeks before it could affect your fish, so if it is normally between 72-80 then thats not it.

Edit: I know you probably don't want to hear it but after reading your last post it does sound like velvet. The torn fins could be from thrashing on your rocks etc. The only thing is the color difference of the film on the fish. but there could be something in your tank making the normal yellowish w.e velvet color look white?

If you have raised your temp. and aded salt do you suspect ick?
I had some tetras I recently purchased in a qt and 2 died before I saw spots.
Also check your heater is not having problems keeping a consistent temp. Seems like a small thing but it can really stress the fish.