Goldfish is turning black

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MommaFish

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to the aquarium world and I need help!
We got a 15 gallon tank about 1 1/2 weeks ago and didn't know about having to cycle a new tank. Now my son's goldfish is turning black and just sitting on the bottom of the tank. I brought the water in for testing and they gave me an ammonia neutralizer and stress coat and told me to do a water change. I did a 25% water change 5 days ago and one yesterday. He looks worse. Can someone tell me what I can do to help him? Should I do another water change and put more neutralizer and water conditioners in? How often should I change the water?

Hi! Welcome to AA!!! Please invest in a liquid test kit ASAP (such as api fw master test kit). You need to be able to test your water daily (or even multiple times a day) and do water changes frequently. Your fish is turning black from ammonia burns- this indicates that you have very dangerous levels of ammonia. Change 50% of the water with temperature matched, properly conditioned water immediately. Wait an hour then change another 50% with tempmatched, properly conditioned water. Then get yourself a liquid test kit & test your water & let us know how your numbers for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate & ph look. You will likely have to do water changes atleast once a day, possibily more frequently to keep your toxin levels under control until your tank cycles. The ammonia burns will heal with LOTS of healthy water but this may take a month or longer. Please read the link below & ask any questions you may have!
I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice