guppy problems help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

moocoo1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,
Sorry about the wall of text :angel:
Just signed up because I am having some issues. I am relatively new to this whole fosh keeping thing. Bassically I have gotten myself some what I thought were easy fish to keep. Unfortunately I am having some very annoying issues. We regularly test our tank and everything is PERFECT the only thing is nitrate was about 15. We also got our water tested at an aquatics shop they told us all was perfect. We do a water change every two weeks of about 25%. The issue is we are finding our female guppy are randomly dying. They are swimming around normally one minute and the next we will find one dead. We had one whos tail ripped from being netted into a small tank for observation. So we thought it may be a fungal infection so we started to treat the tank with stress coat then melaphix That was at the suggestion of the local maidenhead aquatics.we also did a 45% water change with ro water with minerals added. She perked up for a day but after that died. We are also having random guppies just die. This is stressing me beyond beleif. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Tl;dr guppies dying dont know why everything seems ok.

thank you

Michael

What's the m to f ratio? Also changing water chemistry that rapidly is never a good thing..

Hi

It is a 20f to 5m ratio I try and keep a large female population to reduce stress. I know doing that high of a water change isn't normally a good idea the only reason I done this was incase there was an issue ie. Fungal

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app