Has my angel developed hole in the head?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

splintercat

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
About a week ago I noticed a bit of a bump on my angelfish and I chalked it up to him being a bit of a derp and thought he had scratched himself and developed a bump. The bump went away the next day and then it appeared like he had scratched himself and the dead skin was peeling off a little bit. It was stable like this for a few days, but it still looked roughed up. Now it appears to have turned into a bit of a hole. He has no other holes and I'm new to this disease so I just wanted to get some clarification.

He is otherwise healthy and eating normally.

Well established 55 gallon community heavily planted.
Angelfish, black/white skirts, rummynose, bristlenose plecos, SAEs, a couple guppies.

No new fish or plants recently though I did set up co2 & started dosing ferts about a month ago. Also setup a new canister filter a couple weeks ago.

Ammonia, nitrites - 0; nitrates 20-40.

Hey there, thanks for the tips!

Try a salt bath and api general cure.

I guess the salt bath is to help heal this hole that has started and the API would be to help with the actual HITH?

I have metronidazole and yesterday started mixing it into his food. Anyone know if I should also put it in the tank in addition to adding it to his food? The label says it's pretty much impossible to overdose on it, but I don't want to cause any more harm to him. :ermm:

Also, has anyone had luck with this going away or is he pretty much plagued to develop more holes if my water quality were to drop a little bit?

:thanks: for anyone who can help!

Usually, HITH is a condition brought about by poor water quality. Have you checked yours lately? The meds will have little effect if the cause of the condition is not addressed.