help! alage attacking crayfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kristen

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i have been fighting some nasty brown hair alage for quite awile now and seem to be losing the battle...i did a bleach dip on my vals and anubis and it seemed to work, but I think it had already spread to my eco complete so now its back. Since my blue crayfish hides most of the time i didnt notice at first but he has this alage growing all over one of his antena. How do I get rid of this stuff and help my cray, I'm not sure if I can just cut off the affected antane or not? Help!

I'm no crayfish expert, but I would say do not cut off his antenna.

The algae needs nutrients, so cutting back on feeding (will help keep your nitrate down among other things), cutting back on the light cycle if it is overly long, and increasing water changes will all help.

You can try the blackout method, by covering your tank for 3-4 days, no peeking, no feeding, and the algae should be gone. However, if the conditions that brought on the algae are still present, it will just come back.

BTW, does the crayfish eat the plants?

thanks for the advice, i am going to try a blackout and see if that does the trick. The cray does nibble on the plants ocasionaly, he likes some varieties more than others so right now i have an anubis and some vals. He digs them up once and while.

Algae growing on shellfish is nothing new.

He'll get rid of the algae when he molts next time.

Its nothing to fret over :)

TankGirl said:
You can try the blackout method, by covering your tank for 3-4 days, no peeking, no feeding, and the algae should be gone. However, if the conditions that brought on the algae are still present, it will just come back.

Does this work with brown diatom algae?