Help! Can my fish tolerate 86?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mljordaa

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I am relatively new to this fantastic hobby (6 months) after inheriting two fabulous Betta's from friends that emigrated. They where kept in horribly small tanks and we slowly upgraded them to 60 litre tanks with the following tank-mates:
Each tank contains:
1 Betta
10 Tetra neons
2 plecos (still small..)
4 shrimp
And recently 3 clown loaches

To my horror we almost completely lost the one tank now! First one loach died, and then a few tetras. I tried to isolate them in a quarantine Tank and completed the recommended treatment (Furanol 2). Put them back, and of the 20 in both tanks we now have 4 left... My prize Betta also died (I actually cried) and now I see what appears to be Ich on my Loaches. There were no Ich symptoms on the Betta.

I want to save them ASAP but are nervous of using meds (I bought costapur F and Mycopur) but read on previous posts temperature might be a better method.

Please can someone give me some advice? We are in Switzerland and there are 0 reliable LFS around. Only a big supermarket chain which has almost as many dead fish floating in their tanks as live ones...

Thanks

Ps: we are rigorous with keeping the partial water changes up (every weekend 30%) and do a gravel vac as well. All indicators seem in range (tested with strips and more complicated test kits)

I am sorry for the loss, and it's good you tried to improve matters for the Bettas, but you got far too many of the wrong sorts of fish and you do not say if the tanks were cycled. Did you cycle the tanks before adding fish ? Do you have filters, and if so, what kind and how do you clean them ?

What are the parameters the tests show now ? Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH.