Ich- 2 questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Engel

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all,
Sorry I am FULL of questions. I am trying to read as much as I can that has already been posted, but this one has not.
So I was doing daily water changes of 50% because I realized too late I did not cycle my tank. My readings are staying good at > .25 ammonia, and zero Nitrates and Nitrites.
Now I am I am treating ich. :( I have the temp up to 82.14, and I decided to go with medication over salt, since I'm a beginner. Also because as of today there was a spot on one of my angels too, and meds seem to be faster. Or is that dependent on the cycle of the ich?
Either way I've started medicating. First, do I lay off the water changes unless my ammonia spikes?
Second, I noticed that all the angels are hanging out near where the filter feeds back water. Do you guys think the oxygen in the water is getting too low due to the temp? I don't have air stones in there.
If it is too low, will they be ok until I can get some tomorrow, or should I lower the temp for now?
So much to learn.... My father made this seem so easy when I was growing up. I never saw any of this part... just the beautiful tanks!

Hi! You're definitely on the right track by using meds and increasing the temp. In regards to your question about oxygen, yes, when the temp of the water is that high you do need some type of airflow, (i.e. bubble wand, air stones, etc.). If you don't have any readily available, you can always remove some of the water from your tank so that your filter water outflow will splash, thus placing oxygen in the water.

Also, when you no longer see white spots this means that the Ich's lifecycle has changed and you should continue treating your tank in order to kill them.