Is Bob alright?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DiB

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi. I am new to fish keeping having fallen for another sob story with Bob and the Bobettes about to be homeless, my father in law moved and couldn't take them. Bob is a 10 year old fantail goldfish and the Bobettes White cloud Mountain Minnows (i think). The 60 litre tank they came in was slim and wide and poor Bob could only swim backwards and forwards. The tank however didn't have much algae and Bob looked fit and healthy. Anyway I bought a new 95ltr tank, and between the weekly clean used the 60litres and topped up with fresh de-chlorinated water, added some more fake plants and a rock thing. I have over the last 2 months managed to bring the Nitrite and Nitrate down to 0ppm, and the Ammonia is mostly 0ppm but does occasionally look a little nearer 0.25ppm colour. The PH is high and I can't get it down, it sits firmly between 7.4 and 7.8, the water from the tap is 7.4 and the de-chlorinated water before adding to the tank is between 7.8 and 8.00. I am using Kings British De-chlorinator. I replace 20% of the water every Monday but everything is covered in dark brown algae in a couple of days , so I bought 2 Zebra Nerites which helped, so added another 2 Orange spotted Nerites a mohth later and 3 more Gold White Cloud Mountain Minnows, which are tiny in comparison to the Bobettes, 3 weeks ago. Everything seemed to be going swimmingly, if a little stressful and I thought I had everything balanced. We have an automatic feeder for the weekends as they are in the office. Monday morning we noticed some stuff near the Moss balls, I have tried to take a picture and have attached, it looks like an opaque jelly type stuff with a stringy insert. We are debating that it is fish poo, but that has always been red, if from a fish then it has to be Bob as it is long, obvious