Moth fly larva infestation

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KKAY27

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am so upset I have been battling these things for a few months now! I finally found out what they are! I have been thinking they were fruit flies but they are not! They are moth flies! They have laid eggs and little white worms have hatched into my planted tank! I have a pleco and 2 ottos in so I put a guppy in to see if it would eat them! They look so bad and I have no idea how to get rid of them! They are in another one of my tanks with many guppies and I can still see a few! I kill the fly when I see them! But honestly there isn't many I see! I do water changes ever week and bee. Feeding very little! I have no idea what to do! They look so bad! And I don't know if they will hurt my fish! I have 12 tanks to so I'm freaking out

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

New one for me. Did you have any luck getting rid of them?

Oh my goodness no! They are everywhere I have them plus planteria! I know I have both because I see 2 different worms and then the drain moth babies on the top lid and the mom I have already killed! The guppies didn't touch them

It sounds rough for a planted tank but how about pulling everything out and a 100% water change, suck them all down the drain with a siphon? I'm not aware of a product to kill them without harming plants or fish. If they stick on the glass could you attack and kill them with a mag float?(I feel funny saying attack and kill with a mag float lol).