Mysteriously Ill Betta, Thoughts?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sydneygf

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all, wondering if anyone can help figure out what's wrong with my betta.

I've noticed over the last few days he has become extremely lethargic and 90% of the time, lays fairly listlessly on the bottom of the tank. He will swim a bit and come up to the top of the tank for food, but that's it. I suspect he has fin rot, I originally noticed the ends of his fins perhaps looking a bit... odd? And they are now a little discolored. The thing is, I'm not sure why he would have gotten fit rot, or sick in general. I've been fishkeeping on and off for about 7 years now and I have somehow never dealt with sick fish, and the only ones I lost were at the beginning of starting the hobby and being uneducated, so this is new for me. I'm at college, so this is my only tank currently. Here are the tank stats:

-Tank (7 gallon cube) has been set up with plants, snails, and shrimp (Amano & blue neos) for 1 year, he (the Betta) has been in the tank since June or July with no issues.
- Ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates all at 0 due to low bioload and how heavily planted it is, I fertilize with Flourish 1-2x a week
-Temp kept at 78, pH is 7.6. Not sure what KH or GH are, but I live in Southern Arizona to give you an idea, water is pretty hard.
-I have an AquaClear 20 for filtration
-I do a ~50% water change once every 1-2 weeks now for the last few months, I don't really vacuum the substrate as most of it is covered with plants. Water is treated with Seachem Prime prior to filling tank.
-Diet has been OmegaOne flakes and bloodworms the whole time.