Need help fast!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pondmom

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just checked on my 120 gal tank and it looks like my 2 kissing gourami's have "ich"
I see that they have white/clear like spots starting to form on their fin's.
I also have angels,blue& gold gourami's, and 2 pleco's.
What should I do as I have never had to treat for this?
I'm leaving for Vegas in the morning and need to get a move on this.
If I salt, how much and won't it kill my pleco's?
I can always move them to the 29 gal if I have to.
Any advice out there??
Thanks!!

Whaen my tank got it I used "Aquarium Treatment 6 - Anti White spot". You only put it in every 4 days I think so depending on how long your trip is, this may be the best option. But I am not very experienced. Good Luck.

Didja read the article I wrote on ich pondmom? If not, you'll find it in the articles section above :) Do read it, I think it will answer all your questions!

Just read the article. Nice job!!
I think i'm going to do the heat and salt since I already have the 2 on hand.
So, now my question.
How much salt for a 125gal tank?

Yep! Mine was :)

When are you leaving? Tomorrow morn? Eeek. It will take a couple of days to up the salt to the proper levels; you don't want to add too much too quickly (maybe 1 ppm a day). I dunno exactly how much cause I can't do math this early in the morn LOL but 2 ppm is a little less then a quarter cup aquarium salt per 10g. So it'll take a load of salt to get your tank up to that level. I dissolved mine first, and added it slowly to the tank. I STRONGLY suggest grabbing a hydrometer from the lfs to make sure the levels are correct; I got a SeaTest one. Cost me around $11. Turned out I needed a little less then the recommended (each batch of salt contains diff levels of chloride it seems).