Need help identifying this disease

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anan

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I built a new aquarium (60L) that is planted and consists of a betta, 2 pairs of dwarf gouramis and 4 glass catfish. I recently noticed that one of my glass catfish has some white spots on it. I looked up to realise there is something called Ich. But I am not so sure it is Ich because the white spots are clustered toegehter and looks more like a fungal patch. Could you please help me identify what it is and how it can be treated? I am new to the hobby. Although I have done a bit of reading, I am inexpereienced. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• catfish disease.jpg
    catfish disease.jpg
    252.2 KB · Views: 66
Hi I kept glass cats and noticed the odd one off mine had the same mark, it happened when mine where either stressed or injured. It doesn't look like ich too me.
What's your water readings?

I apologise I didn't notice the cotton wool substance on it. If its injury it hasn't anything attached.

Looks like columnaris to me.

Thank you, after looking up some images in the internet, it does look like Columnaris rather than ich, based on the location and appearance. I should have quarantined the fish before putting them into the aquarium. Thank you for the reply, I will look it up to see how it can be treated.

I apologise I didn't notice the cotton wool substance on it. If its injury it hasn't anything attached.

Yes, there is a cotton wool like attachment near its head and seems to be Columnaris, as suggested by King Fisher.

Thank you, after looking up some images in the internet, it does look like Columnaris rather than ich, based on the location and appearance. I should have quarantined the fish before putting them into the aquarium. Thank you for the reply, I will look it up to see how it can be treated.