New Oscars....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Burly31

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, im new to this site so im not sure how to go about things. I have 2 oscars and one angellica cat in a 29 gallon tank. Yes i know this is small but they are babies and this only for about another 3 weeks until they go into my 55g at home and eventually into a monster aquarium when i settle in with my teahcing job. But anyway the 2 oscars started out being pretty lazy but are starting warm up to the tank but they still wont eat. The cat is energetic just like it was at the store. My temp is 78 ph 7.3, ntirates and ammonia are less than .25. The main problem is that oscars wont eat. I have feeder fish with them and offer them brine shrimp and bloodworms. We are going on 4 days with no eating. Any suggestions? Please and thank you

Welcome to AA!
I'm no Oscar expert, but right away I
can tell you that Ammonia should be at 0. Any levels of ammonia at all are toxic to fish. Perhaps that is stressing them out.

Nitrates should be 20 or below, Nitrites, also toxic to fish, should be at 0.
Did you cycle the tank?

If not, you are going to have to do large PWCs every two days or so, to keep those toxic Ammonia levels down. Unfortunately, cycling with fish can be very stressful for them, but don't worry, you will learn and move on. I think you will soon find out how helpful the members here at AA are and will learn a lot!

So remember, .25 Ammonia is actually considered high- you want it at zero, because again it is toxic to fish.

Good luck! :)

Thanks! I talked to the local pet store and what he said is that when i cleaned my tank i kick it back into a cycle. The water has cleared up the last few days. DO you think ammonia will keep them from eating?