Nitrites and nitrates off the charts. Help? Please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kades

Aquarium Advice Regular
I took my water to the lps to have water checked "professionally" (I'm still new at everything) my nitrites and nitrates were off the charts. I had been doing pwc never more than 30% about every 3 days as instructed by someone. They told me not to touch the water to let it balance naturally. What do I do?! My fish seem fine except my blood parrot shes hiding non stop and if she does come out she swims to the to corner and then dashes around weird. Any advice I don't want to jump to do yet anothet pwc if its going to make things worse. Also the filter was given to me along with the tank. I bought a new filter sponge (? If thats what its called) before I cycled it and I took the filter to the store with me and the sponge she gave me didn't seem to fit exactly right and it looked like something else was maybe missing? Was there could this be the problem?

PWCs. Lots of them.
LFSs usually give very bad advise. They want to keep you coming back to spend more money.
You need to get those nitrites down before it kills your fish. Do a 50% water change then let it circulate for a half an hour. Test your water. If ammonia or nitrites are at 0.25ppm or above do another 50-70% water change then let it circulate for a half an hour and test again. Repeat as needed until both ammonia and nitrites are below 0.25ppm. Do the same if your nitrates are above 20ppm. Your fish will thank you. Be sure to use a quality dechlorinator for your fresh water before you add it to the tank.

There is a sticky for fish in cycling that you may want to read.

Best of luck to you.

blert said:
PWCs. Lots of them.
LFSs usually give very bad advise. They want to keep you coming back to spend more money.