Nitrites are 50+...I'm a beginner help please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kades

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok I set up a tank and started cycling on the 12th of december. I stated with tiger barbs they thrived then I got my bp everything was going well and now the nitrites have soared. The lps told me not to touch the water top let it "do its own thing" as stated by employee. The ammonia is .25 nitrates 40 maybe a little under. Ph is 8.0 I feel like I need to do a water change but I wanted to get opinions. I'm still new and learning any advice would be great. I'm worried about my blood parrot!

Fish-in cycle--- LOTS of water changes. .25 Ammonia is .25 too much. Nitrite needs to be zero as well. Nitrate is a bit less of an issue (though 50 is pretty high).

Fish gills get burned by ammonia. Nitrites also weaken them and can cause blood issues and other sicknesses.

As per usual, lfs have given you bum advice. Change out 50% of the water now and in a few hours do it again.

50% water changes will halve the amount of ammonia and nitrates in the water. So if you have a reading of 40nitrates, do a 50% change will bring it down to 20. Same principle for ammonia.

As above poster has said the ammonia in the water will burn the fish gills :/

Grrr....those silly lfs people, why do they say those things???
Water changes can only help! All the beneficial bacteria are in the filter and on surfaces, not in the water. You're only get rid of bad stuff by doing water changes.

Sisserydoo said:
Grrr....those silly lfs people, why do they say those things???
Water changes can only help! All the beneficial bacteria are in the filter and on surfaces, not in the water. You're only get rid of bad stuff by doing water changes.

LFS is in it for the money. If the fish lived then you wouldn't go back to buy more.