orange bubble thing on goldfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Skyclad8

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello. I was hoping somebody here would be able to help me out. I have not been able to find the answer searching on the internet. One of my fancy goldfish seemed to develop a bubble on his back overnight. I'll try to provide you with as much information as i can.

Tank history: kids talked me into buying them 2 fancy goldfish on a trip to the pet store about 7 months ago. They live in a 29 gallon tank with a cascade 150 filter. I am completely new to owning fish, therefor the fish had to endure the tank cycling. I was having very bad algae problems and high nitrate levels about 3.5 months in. I kept doing a full clean out of the tank and the algae would just come back faster then the last time. Finally i read online that the kind of algae i was getting was normal and had to get past that cycle point on its own so i quit fully wiping the tank. About a month ago i purchased 5 nerite snails and they cleaned up the tank beautifully.

During my high nitrate problem, one of my fish(the one who now has the bubble on his back) developed popeye in one of his eyes. I went to a stand up pet store near home for medication for the popeye. They said they didn't really have anything that would cure popeye but gave me Binox and said it may help. It did not, it just turned my tank water very yellow. I was also told that it was likey my fist would not live. That was about 3 months ago . He is still extremely active, eats well, and continues to be as playful as the day i brought him home. Then last month i read that there is no real medical cure for popeye, that i just need to make sure the water is changed regularly and maybe bring in a live plant for oxygen.