Parasites? Bacterial infection? Both?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

momfish

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All,

I’m new to the hobby and love it but getting a little heartbroken. I may be losing a *second* tank worth of fish right now and desperately hoping to save. Hoping for some guidance and clues as to what went wrong this go-round. I thought I’d done everything right this time!

Details:

-Five gallon tank (prob my first problem, I’m learning)

-Let it run for a while and added alive plant but didn’t plant it yet (still in little black pot I got it in from PetSmart).

-Added my beloved mystery snail that survived the first tank.

-So, new five gallon tank, new unplanted plant, my awesome and hearty mystery snail in tank at this point.

-Got water tested and okayed by LFS before adding a male Betta and two Harlequin Rasboras.

-Betta and Rasboras quickly and somewhat nicely sorted out dominance and everyone seemed happy.

-Did a 20% water change after the first week. All is well.

-Four days later, I got fancy and put some raw broccoli in the tank for my snail. My snail didn’t really care but Betta nipped at it a bit. I left the broccoli in the tank (for two days!) to give the snail a chance to eat it. In retrospect, this seems unwise. I think it may have changed the water’s pH?

-Betta—who’s a normally pretty active guy—was laying at the bottom of the tank. He did eat that night but not much. Learned broccoli is bad for Bettas. Thought maybe it made his tummy hurt. This is when I took the broccoli out of the tank.

-Betta laying down again the next day, hiding in various places in the tank. I turned off the light so he’d feel less vulnerable. Rasboras are fine, snail seems unhappy.