platy fish has white spots

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ipadmad

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, this is my first post and I'm new to fish, so this is a steep learning curve.

We bought 4 platys about two months ago. One of them was quite a bit smaller and got bullied as a result. He was acting quite reclusive last week and died on Saturday. I thought it was due to the stress.

However, one of the other fish has now developed following symptoms in last couple of daya:
White spots on back, almost like grains of salt stuck to him
Yesterday, he spent a lot of time next to the filter and at the top of the water
Today, he is quite lethargic and spending time at the bottom of tank

We went to pets at home yesterday to get their advice and advised to buy anti-fungus treatment. However, since getting backing home and putting the solution in, I've done some more research online and actually think he has ich.

I am posting up to try to find out the best plan now and have several questions...

If we put in treatment for white spot, will it be safe (ie the fact we put in the anti-fungus treatment last night - phenoxyethanol).

I've read about heating up the water, but we can't do that as it's not a heated tank.

We did a third water change yesterday (normally do it weekly).

Any advice or help would be appreciated. Oh the pets shop tested all the water levels. They did say nitrate was a bit high, but that was expected as we had cleaned out the filter the day before and that it will settle back down (is this true?)

Thanks for reading, really hope I can save the others. Much appreciated

Hi, welcome to AA!

What size is your tank? If you have high nitrate it may mean your tank is too small or you need to increase your water changes.