Platy is dying ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ally88

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Please help!
I’m new to fish keeping and my platy is staying at the bottom of the tank hiding and clamping his fins down! If he’s disturbed, he’ll come to the surface and swim frantically up there. He’s still eating though.
Can I still save him??

Don’t worry Ally88, in Aquarium Advice we will make the strongest effort to save your platy, I just need you to answer these questions in order to know exactly what’s afflicting your pet! (These are from Menangerie)

1~What type of fish is afflicted? In addition, please describe what is wrong with the fish to the best of your ability (i.e. cotton like growth, bloated, etc.).
2~What are your tank parameters (ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, temp, pH)? Please give exact values.
3~ How large is the tank? How long has the tank been set up?
4~What type of filtration are you using? Please give the name and number (i.e. Fluval 304) and amount of gph if known.
5~How many fish are in the tank? What kinds of fish are they and what are their current sizes?
6~When is the last time you did a water change and vacuum the gravel? How often do you do this? How much water do you remove at a time?
7~How long have you had the fish? If the fish is new, how did you acclimate it/them?
8~Have you added anything new to the tank--decor, new dechlorinator, new substrate, etc.?
9~What kind of food have you been feeding your fish, have you changed their diet recently?

After you answer these questions and send a photo of your fish in the post, we will be able to know what’s happening and help you out :)

81036DE3-F642-490A-BBA3-4C69C3A61530.jpgI’ll answer these to the best of my knowledge ?