Please help! Dying Koi Fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KoiKid

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I'm new to Aquarium Advice and I made an account just for my sick koi fish. I think its dying. I'm deciding to help it because no one in my family (including me) but my dad knows much about kois and he thinks it's too late to rescue it.

I did research on the symptoms my fish has and it might have a bacterial infection and fin rotting. My fish is really skinny and it won't eat at all. It was floating around near the surface earlier, but now it's laying on its side at the bottom of the fish pond.

Also, I watched my dad clean out the filter by putting in this new fluffy white sheet? I looked closer through the debris and saw a few snails and these tiny worm like animals. They were about the length (err from nail tip to cuticle?) of a pinky nail. Are they maybe what making my fish sick? I think they're black fly larvae (which is supposedly harmless)...

Please, if anyone is out there help me. What should I do? Is it too late?

I'm sorry to hear your fish is sick. My Albino Oscar died of fin rot and once it is spreads throughly the body it's too late the bacteria has taken over. I learned the hard way how to spot fin rot at the early stage. Unfortunately it's too late for your Koi. However please check your other fish, if you see small speckle crystal dots on their fins that's when you need to take action. Do a 50% water change then put in medication, best medication is Mardel it's an anti bacteria, follow instructions make sure you take out the filter before you put in the medication. The carbon will dissolve the medication. After a week of treatment do another water change. At that time you can out back your filter in. Good luck and keep us posted.