Please help ... Nitrite & nitrate VERY high

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Debs131313

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just did a partial water change and then tested the water levels in my two 3 gallon tanks with a betta in each one. I made sure the temperature of the added water were the same and added stress zyme and stress coat to the ingoing water. The levels were good before the change, but now they are as follows:

Strip test:
ROMEO:pH - 7.8; Alkalinity - 300; hard water - 300; Nitrite - 3.0; Nitrate - 160
JULIO: pH - 7.8; Alkalinity - 300; hard water - 300; Nitrite - 3.0; Nitrate - 80

I'm new at this and don't know what to do to fix there water. PLEASE HELP ASAP.

I have aquarium salt and a few other things?????

Anxiously awaiting your replies!!!

Thank you.

In the meantime, I will be checking the water levels with the API master kit testing kit
user_online.gif
progress.gif

When was the last time it had a good cleaning?

That's strange the parameters are out of whack after a water change. Have you ever tested your tap water?

These are both new tanks going from a one gallon, no filter no heat tanks to these filtered and heated 3 gallon tanks, so I have not cleaned them yet, other than rinsing off everything before adding to the new tanks ...

I tested the water with the API master kit and the results are as follows:

ROMEO: pH-8.0; Ammonia-.25/.50; Nitrite-0; Nitrate-0
JULIO: pH-8.0; Ammonia-.25/.50; Nitrite-0; Nitrate-0

I retested with the strips and here are those results:

ROMEO:pH-7.2; Alkalinity-120; hard water-150; Nitrite-0; Nitrate-20
JULIO: pH-7.2; Alkalinity-120; hard water-150; Nitrite-0; Nitrate-20

These results are more reasonable ... any suggestions? Anything I should fix or look for?

Please help ... Nitrite & nitrate VERY high