Please Help! Zebra Danios are sick.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Spottington

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello Everyone, I am new to the hobby and I need help. I have a new 10g freshwater tank, stocked with some zebra danios, and they aren't doing well. One has already died, and another is not looking well.

The first fish to get sick started acting strange a few days ago. The other danios were very active, eating well, swimming around the entire tank. This one stayed in one spot, swam back and forth, and was not as enthusiastic about food. A day later, it had a white patch near it's tail. The next day, it was floating around with it's head at the surface, and tail strait down. I decided to put it down, this was yesterday.

Today I noticed another danio was acting the same as the first, swimming back and forth by itself. I noticed it has a white spot near it's mouth, with what looks like a thin white hair hanging down from it. I don't wanna lose this one too!

My setup is as follows:
10g freshwater tank
Set up 5 days ago, stocked 4 days ago.
Stocked with 6 Zebra danio, two anacharis plants, one moneywort plant
Temp: 78 degrees F
pH: 7.8
Ammonia: 0.25ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 5ppm

Since these water readings were taken, I did a 25% water change, and raised the temperature (slowly) to about 80 degrees, in an attempt to kill any ich if that was indeed the culprit.

Help!

If you didn't use sponge media from a filter in an established tank when you set it up, you haven't cycled the tank.

I won't go into too much detail about the cycle. You can easily find it on google. It's called the nitrogen cycle. It involves building up colonies of friendly bacteria that consume toxins that organic matter and your fish create.