Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-24-2005, 04:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Question about mark on Platy

Hi, newbie here............... I have a well established 20 gallon tank that has run very, very smooth for 1.5 years. Same tank mates, nothing new. The only kids that I have lost are 1 White Cloud (due to an over aggressive Cat) so the other 2 were removed and placed in betta tank, and my Cana gold snail who was almost 3 years old and dies due to old age. I have 3 platies, two females and one male, all wagtail. A few weeks back, i noticed a small white speck on the largest ones face above the mouth. I have waited it out to make sure of what it was before treating because of the other fish in the tank and there has not been any more spots since. SHe is swimming, eating as normal and comes to the side of the tank when I approach. Everything seems normal. This morning, when I flipped on the light to feed them all, I noticed a white mark on her side. It is not fuzzy nor does it look like an ulcer. I have been looking for sites with different types of diseases and cannot seem to find any that fit that description. I do not have my test available right now because I am at work but I do check the water almost daily, weekly 20% water changes and gravel cleaning and have water tested weekly at a local owned fish store.
My platies tank mates are 3 Mollies, 2 Glo-fish, 1 cat and 4 snails other than the other Platies. I do add calcium once a week (Kents liquid calcium) for the snails shells and wonder if this is damaging her.