Red Gills, Tank Troubleshooting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Arhalster

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone! I've been reading this site for months, and I figured that it was about time that I finally join it. I have a problem with my tank, and I'm not quite sure what to do now. I'm relatively new to aquariums, but I've done a lot of reading and research that I'm pretty confident on what I am doing. I do need help though. My 20G tank has been up for several months, and is a community tank with 2 small angels, 3 cories, 3 neons, and 2 platys.

I bought a couple cories a month or so ago from my LFS. One of the cories died within the first week, It was very lethargic, and had extremely red gills. I know that's a sign of ammonia poisoning, and I checked it right away, but I still have no ammonia, and I haven't for months. After I removed that cory, I treated the tank with Melafix and Primafix to help eliminate any possible issues. Fast foreward to now, a couple weeks later, my angels and neons seem to have really red gills, and are breathing a lot. I bought 2 more cores a couple weeks ago, and they seem to be doing just fine. I'm not sure, but the neons look a little greyish to me. It almost seems like they may have a film on them.

Stats:
Ammonia - 0
Nitrites - 0
Nitrates - 10
pH - 8.0 (was 8.4 - I have very very very hard tap water, and I'm using RO to bring down the pH slowly over time to around 7.)
Temp - 78

I'm obsessive about changing 15% of my water every week, and I test quite often.

What on earth could the problem be? I've read up on velvet, flukes, etc, and there are so many things out there, I don't know what to do, and I don't want to lose my fish. I did treat them for a week with Melafix & Primafix, so I feel like I can rule out those posibilities.

Do I start to treat them with something like General Cure?